We post regular updates of events, photos and news on our facebook page www.facebook.com/glosoutdoor

 

Congratulations to everyone who completed the Cotswold way walks!

We completed the whole Cotswold way over a series of Sunday walks in the last couple of years.  Taking in a wide range of countryside, stunning views and the inevitable range of weather, this has been one of the highlights of the programme.

Other long distance paths on the programme have included the Whitmore Way and Diamond Way.

 

Every programme contains at least one weekend trip away.  The weekend in Exmoor allowed us to go futher afield.  The accommodation was excellent with some lovely walks.  We have never walked up a valley with so many fords to cross.   The crossings were made all the more interesting due to the rain that fell over the weekend!
Every year we aim to visit some of the best places to view some of natures best shows.  The daffodil walk was particular special this year followed a month later by a glorious carpet of bluebells.
   
   

 

Previous programmes:

Here is a sample of some of our previous programmes.

Sunday 2nd February Whitmore Way (2)

Carry on the New Year’s resolution to go out walking more often by completing section 2 of the Whitmore Way in the Staunton and Corse area.

Thursday 6th February Night Walk

An opportunity to enjoy a different perspective on our surrounding areas and hopefully see a stunning starry night.

Sunday 9th February Walk

An extended walk to Sugar Loaf. He is planning to go slightly further afield. Please contact him for details.

Thursday 13th February Illustrated talk

A Painswick Bird Club talk entitled Bulgarian Wildlife taking place at the Town Hall, Painswick at 7.30 pm.

Sunday 16th February Walk

A Costwold walk. Starting from the beautiful cotswold village of Broadway, excellent views of the area are expected.

Tuesday 18th February ** NEW MEMBERS EVENT ** Pancake evening

A clash of dates, means we are celebrating pancake night early! L is hosting this traditional GOG event. Please come along to welcome new members.

Sunday 23rd February Walk

This walk takes us up to Cleeve Hill. It might be close to Cheltenham but there is still plenty to explore.

 Thursday 27th February (Fully Booked) Film

The national theatre is broadcasting live its production of War Horse to Cheltenham Cinema.

Sunday 2nd March Cotswold Way

Final section of the Cotswold Way and probably the best section! This time, J is leading from Buckland to Chipping Camden.

Thursday 6th March Meal

AW is hosting this evening’s meal at the Balti Walla, Bath Road, Cheltenham. The restaurant is BYO drink and serves authentic spicy curries.

Friday 7th March – Sunday 9th March Weekend away

Annual assault on Penn-y-Fan staying in a bunkhouse at Trecastle.

Thursday 13th March Indoor Racing

GOG celebrates race week in their own style with an evening hosted by our treasurer

Sunday 16th March Walk

L is leading this walk. He is going to select his favourite walk, see our website for details of his choice!

Thursday 20th March Pub social and planning meeting

Enjoy a good selection of beers and food at Sandford Park Alehouse. Please bring ideas for the next programme.

Sunday 23rd March Daffodil Walk

We are predicting good weather and a glorious display of daffodils for this walk led by A  from Kempley. If you have never seen this, then it is worth coming!

Thursday 27th March Theatre event

Brassed off! That is the play and not us. A is taking bookings at the end of February for this event at the Everyman Theatre in Cheltenham

Sunday 30th March Walk

C  has chosen to take us on a walk around Guiting Power. It is a different location and an opportunity to see more of our area.

Thursday 3rd April ** NEW MEMBERS EVENT ** Pub Social

S has chosen the Colesbourne Inn for this pub social. We will be playing bar billiards and other competitive games. Enjoying a social drink is also allowed.

Sunday 6th April Walk

A walk through the Stroud valleys with AB. It will be a good time to stretch the legs and lungs, as we go up and down in this beautiful spot.

Thursday 10th April Quiz

We are hosting the Cadbury cup this year which involves practising and planning quizzes.

Sunday 13th April Walk

Going from Prestbury golf course taking us “up and over” the hill.

Sunday 20th April Walk

Easter eggs should be included in this walk around the Whitemore Way.

Thursday 24th April Walk

Our first evening walk which means the evenings are getting lighter and weather getting warmer.

Sunday 27th April Walk

Starting near Seven Spring, this walk will take us around pretty countryside.